First Annual Lois Lowry Fellowship Awarded

Winning Lois Lowry Fellowship authors Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely speak at Library

Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely co-wrote the Coretta Scott King Honor Award–winning novel All American Boys, which grapples with the repercussions of a single violent act that leaves the characters’ school, their community, and ultimately, the country bitterly divided by racial tension. Their novel recounts the interlocking stories of two young men, one black and one white, as they respond to a racial situation

The book is the inaugural Lois Lowry Fellowship winner through the Friends of the West Roxbury Branch Library, a contest created to commemorate the Friends’ 40th anniversary. On October 3, 2016, he authors enthralled the audience with their reflections on racial issues in the United States. They conversed with many attendees individually after their talk and also signed books

Award-winning authors Jason Reynolds (left) and Brendan Kiely speak about their young adult novel All-American Boys.                                                                            
A light-hearted moment after the event.
Friends’ Board Co-Chair Jenna Leschuk announces the first annual Lois Lowry Award winners.